A Bit About Us

A Rich History, A Bright Future

Miles Moore, in whose honor the town of Mooreland was named, laid out the town and had it recorded August 9, 1882. Originally it was planned for the town to be at Circleville or five points, but when it was learned that the Big Four Railroad was coming through this area, the present site of Mooreland was selected.

Construction of the railroad began in 1882. The town was first called “Leonard” for a railroad constructor who built much of the grade of the track. When the application was made for mail service, it was found that Indiana already had an office named Leonard.

At the same time, Miles Moore, who owned land on the west side of what is now Broad street, was plotting the first addition. Two blocks with sixteen lots were laid out. It was then suggested and agreed to change the name to Mooreland.


Learn more about our rich history.

 

Town Board Members

Kristi Mosier Town of Mooreland Board

Kristi Mosier

Martha Biehl
Clerk/Treasurer